The Staircase Is a New True Crime Drama Unlike All the Others

news image

The original documentary The Staircase may have debuted back in 2004, but there are a number of reasons why the case has stayed in the public eye for over a decade. First, the ongoing doubt some still have over who really killed Kathleen Peterson, even though her husband, Michael, was convicted in 2003. Another reason was the continued effort by Michael Peterson and his family to protest his innocence, and that his case didn’t truly end until 2017, when the writer was released from prison. The final reason, of course, is the popularity of true crime podcasts and the 2004 documentary’s addition to Netflix, which undoubtedly added new interest to a wild case.

For anyone unfamiliar with the true crime story, in 2001, Michael Peterson called the police alleging his wife fell down the stairs. But when authorities arrived to the scene, they saw a bloodied Kathleen Peterson at the bottom of the staircase and immediately doubted if she really did fall… or if her husband murdered her. The case took unexpected twists and turns, like prosecutors revealing Michael Peterson’s bisexuality and infidelity, and even the couple’s former neighbor alleging an owl actually killed Kathleen, not her husband. And that’s not even all the drama.

So it’s not all that surprising there’s now an HBO Max crime drama starring Colin Firth and Toni Colette to reenact the entire case, documentary filming included. The show debuted on May 5, and we’ve got a release schedule below so you can continue to tune in to one of the most wild true crime-inspired dramas of the year.

When does The Staircase Premiere?

The Staircase premieres on May 5 on HBO Max. The show will have eight episodes, with three released on the first day.

When is the next episode of The Staircase coming out?

The next episode of The Staircase will hit HBO Max on May 17.

Official The Staircase Release Schedule

Episode 1: Streaming as of now.

Episode 2: Streaming as of now.

Episode 3: Streaming as of now.

Episode 4: Premieres on May 12, 2022

Episode 5: Premieres on May 19, 2022

Episode 6: Premieres on May 26, 2022

Episode 7: Premieres on June 2, 2022

Episode 8: Premieres on June 9, 2022

This content is created and maintained by a third party, and imported onto this page to help users provide their email addresses. You may be able to find more information about this and similar content at

Read More